Georgia Soil & Water Conservation Commision Erosion & Sedimentation Law "for all Trade Contractors"
WHO NEEDS A DIRT CARD???
Anyone involved in land development, design, review, permitting, construction, monitoring, inspection, or any land-disturbing activity in Georgia must meet education requirements and be certified by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission program developed in consultation with the Georgia Environmental Protection Division and the Stakeholder Advisory Board.
White Card - Subcontractors Awareness: 2 Hrs.
(GSWCC White card option*) The soil law is simple: Electricians, Conditioned Air, Plumbers; including their employees, workers, and helpers who dig or disturb dirt on a permitted site must comply with current GSWCC Subcontractor Awareness certification (white card).
Blue Card Renewal - Level 1A: 4Hrs. If you wish to recertify or reinstate your GSWCC Blue Card, you may complete our 4 hour approved class, as established by the Commission, (O.C.G.A> 12-7-19). No testing at this in person recertification event. Our continuing education events meet the criteria for a Level 1A continuing education course for the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission (GSWCC) and is approved for 4 hours of instruction, and is a GA Licensing Board approved subject matter for Professional Trade Association' continuing education.
Blue Card Initial – Level 1A: 8Hrs. We do not currently offer the initial certification class.
To learn more about all the levels of certification available through the Georgia Soil & Water Conservation Commission, check out this video-
Frequently asked questions:
Is my Blue Card renewal retroactive from expiration date or will the 3 year duration start from the new date.
If they take the re-cert couse course before their initial certitification expires their original date will be extended. If they take a re-cert class after they expire, the date they took the re-cert course will become their new date, good for 3 years.
Will I get a new card or a decal?
Yes, GSWCC will mail out new card 2 weeks prior to expiration, or 2 weeks from class date, if already expired
Will I get a new certification number?
What about the 1 year advance limit? Can I get the continuing education class more than 1 year in advance of my expiration date?
No, that policy is the same
My card is expired more than 3 years, do I need to get 8 hours of CE?
They only need 4 hours